Structure and organization

Each of the institute's five departments is led by a director. The institute is managed by the board of directors. Every three years, the position of the institute's managing director changes from one director to the next.

The Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology (MPIN) has round about 300 members of staff, coming from 40 nations. Due to the internationality, the language in the labs, in seminars and other meetings is English.


Managing Director: Prof. Dr. Winfried Denk (01. April 2017 - 31. March 2020)

Deputy Managing Director: Prof. Dr. Herwig Baier (since April 1st 2017)

Assistant to the Managing Director: Dr. Jayne Lambert

Head of Administration: Sonja Strobel

Scientific Members, Directors

Prof. Dr. Herwig Baier, MPIN Director since 2011. Department Genes - Circuits - Behavior

Prof. Dr. Tobias Bonhoeffer, MPIN Director since 1998. Department Synapses - Circuits - Plasticity

Prof. Dr. Alexander Borst, MPIN Director since 2001. Department Circuits - Computation - Models

Prof. Dr. Winfried Denk, MPIN Director since 2011. Department Electrons - Photons - Neurons

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Klein, MPIN Director since 2001. Department Molecules - Signaling - Development

Research Groups

Dr. Nadine Gogolla, Max Planck Research Group Circuits for Emotion

Dr. Oliver Griesbeck, Research Group Tools for Bio-Imaging

Dr. Christian Mayer, Max Planck Research Group Neurogenomics

Dr. Ruben Portugues, Max Planck Research Group Sensorimotor Control

Max Planck Fellows

Prof. Dr. Benedikt Grothe, Max Planck Fellow Group Circuits of Spatial Hearing since 2014

Emeritus Scientific Members

Prof. Dr. Albert Herz, Director at the MPIN until 1989. Department Neurophysiology

Prof. Dr. Georg Kreutzberg, Director at the MPIN until 2000. Department Neuromorphology

Prof. Dr. Bert Sakmann, Director at the MPI for Medical Research until 2008, since then leader of the Emeritus Group Cortical Column in silico at the MPIN.

Prof. Dr. Hartmut Wekerle, Director at the MPIN until 2011. Department Neuroimmunology

External Scientific Members

Prof. Dr. Yves-Alain Barde, Cardiff School of Biosciences, UK

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Hohlfeld, Institute for Clinical Neuroimmunology (INIM) of the LMU

Prof. Dr. Edvard Moser, Kavli Institute for Systems Neuroscience and Centre for Neural Computation, Norway

loading content
Go to Editor View